Asara B’Tevet: The Fast of the 10th of Tevet

By Orthodox Union

In the State of Israel, Kaddish (the Jewish prayer for the deceased) is recited on this day for people whose date or place of death is unknown. Consequently, many rabbis have designated it as a day of remembrance for the Holocaust.

‘And it was in the ninth year of his reign, in the tenth month, in the tenth (day) of the month, that Nebuchadnezzar, King of Babylon came, he and all his hosts, upon Yerushalayim, and he encamped upon it and built forts around it. And the city came under siege till the eleventh year of King Tzidkiyahu. On the ninth of the month famine was intense in the city, the people had no bread, and the city was breached.’ (Second Melachim 25).

iStock_000012024187SmallWe see then, that the tenth of Tevet – on which the siege of Yerushalayim began, was the beginning of the whole chain of calamities which finally ended with the destruction of the Beit HaMikdash.

‘The essential significance of the fast of the Tenth of Tevet, as well as that of the other fast days, is not primarily the grief and mourning which they evoke. Their aim is rather to awaken the hearts towards repentance; to recall to us, both the evil deeds of our fathers, and our own evil deeds, which caused anguish to befall both them and us and thereby to cause us to return towards the good. As it is said (Vayikra 26): ‘And they shall confess their transgressions and the transgressions of their fathers.’ (Rambam: Hilchot Ta’anit Chapter 5).

‘The aim of fasting, therefore, is to subjugate our evil inclination by restriction of pleasure; to open our hearts and stir us to repentance and good deeds through which the gates of Divine mercy might be opened for us.’ (Chayei Adam; Klal 33)

‘Therefore, each person is obligated to examine his deeds and to repent during these days. As it is written of the people of Nineveh: ‘And the Lord saw their actions’ (Yonah 3), upon which the Rabbis say: ‘It is not said, He saw their sackcloth and fasting, but rather their actions ‘ (Ta’anit 22). We see hence that the purpose of fasting is repentance.’ (same as above)

‘Therefore, the people, who fast but engage in pointless activities, grasp what is of secondary importance and miss what is essential. Nevertheless, repentance alone without fasting is also insufficient, because there is a positive commandment of Rabbinic origin to fast on this day.’ (same as above)

The fast begins, as do all the public fasts with the exception of Tisha B’Av and Yom Kippur, at “alot haShachar,” “dawn.”

These four public fasts: Asarah B’Tevet, Tzom Gedaliah, Shiva Asar B’Tammuz, and Ta’anit Esther, are also alike in that there do not apply any additional physical constraints, such as the prohibition of washing or of wearing leather shoes, etc.

One who is in the category of being ill-even-without-danger, or who is a pregnant or nursing woman, for whom fasting might be difficult, and all children, are exempt from fasting.

All those who are exempt from fasting should not, in any case, eat publicly or indulge in purely pleasurable forms of consumption (such as eating black-‘n-whites), but should eat only that which is necessary for good nutrition.

If a public fast falls on Shabbat, it is delayed until after Shabbat since fasting is not permitted on Shabbat. The one exception is Yom Kippur, which, based on a verse in the Torah, is observed even if it falls on Shabbat. The Geonim also write that the same was once true of the tenth of Tevet, since it is written of the tenth of Tevet: ‘On this very day’ (YechezkeI 2). In our calendar calculation, however, the tenth of Tevet can never fall on Shabbat.

If a public fast occurs on Erev Shabbat, we fast the entire day till the conclusion of the fast, even though it means entering Shabbat while fasting. Neither “Avinu Malkeinu” nor “Tachanun” are recited at Mincha. The fast continues until after the completion of Maariv for Shabbat (after the appearance of the stars). One should not eat or drink anything until after Kiddush.

Nowadays our calendar calculation is such that the only public fast which can fall on Erev Shabbat is the tenth of Tevet.

About johnmhummasti

Was the victim of Human Rights Abuses (e.g. Hummasti v Bell, 98-3651-JTC) while a patient in the custody of the US Attorney General and hospitalized under 18 USC 4241 through 4244, et seq.! Interests: Biblical Studies, Talmudic Studies, Dead Sea (Yam Melek [Sea of Kings Soferim]) Scrolls, Scribal (Stam Sofer) Traditions, Cantorial (Hazzan) Psalms (Tehillim). Illustrated Calligraphy (e.g. Ketuvim [Jewish Marriage Contracts], Poetry). Self Published Manuscripts and Screen Plays at yhummastiscribd web site:
This entry was posted in History, Jerusalem, Judaism, Temple Mount. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Asara B’Tevet: The Fast of the 10th of Tevet

  1. Jason says:

    I am sure this article has touched all the internet people, its really really fastidious post
    on building up new web site.

  2. I have besen browsing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like
    yours. It’s pretty wortyh enough for me. In my view, if all website owners and bloggers made goood content as you did, the net
    ill bee a lot more useful than ever before.|
    I could not ressist commenting. Perfectlly written!|
    I’ll right away grab your rss feed aas I can’t in finding your email
    subscription hyprrlink oor e-newsletter service. Do you have any?
    Kindly allow me understand so that I could subscribe. Thanks.|
    It’s perfect time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy.
    I have rad this post and if I could I wish to suggest you
    some interesting things or advice. Perhaps you can write next articles referring to
    this article. I want to read more things about it!|
    It is perfect time to make a feew plans for the future and it is time to be
    happy. I have learn this publish and if I may I wish to recommend you some fascinatong
    things or tips. Perhaps you can write subsequent articls regarding this article.
    I wish to read more issues about it!|
    Ihave been surfing online greater than three hours as of late, yet I by no means
    found any attention-grabbing article like yours. It is pretry value enough for me.
    Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made excelklent cobtent material as youu did,
    the nnet will probably be much more useful than ever before.|
    Ahaa, iits fastidious discussion regarding this article at this
    place at this weblog, I have read all that, so at this time me also commenting at this place.|
    I am sure this piece of writing has touche all the internet
    people, its really really good paragraph on building upp new
    blog.|
    Wow, this article is good, my sister is analyzingg these kinds off things, so I am
    going tto inform her.|
    Saved as a favorite, I love your site!|
    Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you penning this post
    and also the rest of the site is reaally good.|
    Hi, I do believe this is a great blog. I stumbledupon it 😉 I may revisit yet again since I
    book-marked it. Mony and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you bee rich and continue to help other people.|
    Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this
    site. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very hard to get that
    “perfect balance” between usability andd visual appearance.

    I must say you have done a awesome jjob with this.
    Additionally, the blog loads extremely quick forr
    me on Chrome. Superb Blog!|
    These are actually wonderful ideas in about blogging.
    You have touched some pleasant points here. Any
    way keep up wrinting.|
    I like what you guys are usually up too. This kind of clever work and
    coverage! Keep up the wonderful works guys I’ve you guys to my
    blogroll.|
    Hi there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us soo
    I came to ceck it out. I’m definitely enjoying the
    information. I’m book-marking and will be tweetig this to
    my followers! Superb blog and terrific style and design.|
    I like what you guys are up too. This sort of clever work and reporting!

    Keep up the amazing works guys I’ve added you guys to
    my blogroll.|
    Hey would you minmd sharing which blog platform you’re working with?
    I’m going to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a hard time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.

    The reason I ask is because your layout seems diffterent then most bllgs
    and I’m looking for something completely unique.
    P.S Aologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!|
    Hello would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re utilizing?

    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 comoletely different internet browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quucker then most.
    Can you suggest a good internet hosting provider at a fair price?
    Cheers, I appreciate it!|
    I love it when folks get togetgher and share opinions.
    Great blog, keep it up!|
    Thank you for tthe auspicious writeup. It in fact was a
    amusement account it. Look advanced to more
    added agreeable from you! However, how could we communicate?|
    Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up.The text inn your post seem tto be running off the screen in Safari.
    I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I thought I’d
    post to let you know. Thee style and design loopk great though!
    Hope you get the issue resolved soon. Thanks|
    This is a topic that is near to my heart… Best wishes!
    Exactly where are your contact details though?|
    It’s very straightforward to find out any topic on neet as compared to books, as I found this article at this site.|
    Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having problems locating
    it but, I’d like to send you an email. I’ve
    got some suggestions for youyr blog you might be interested
    inn hearing. Either way, grewat website and I look
    forward to seeing it develop over time.|
    Hola! I’ve been following your weblog for a while now and finally got the courage to
    go aheasd and give you a shout out from Lubbock Texas!
    Just wanted to tell you kedp up thee great work!|
    Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored to death at work
    so I decided to check out your website on my iphone during lunch
    break. I really like the knowledge you prvide here and can’t wat to take a
    look when I get home. I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my pphone ..

    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, superb blog!|
    Its such as you read mmy thoughts! Yoou seem to understand a
    lot about this, such as you wrote the ebook in it or something.
    I believe that you can do wifh a feew p.c. to pressure the message house a
    little bit, however instead of that, that is great blog.
    A fantastic read. I’ll definitely be back.|
    I visited several blogs however the audio quality for audio songs existing at this web page is actually superb.|
    Hello, i read your blg from time to time and i own a similar oone and i was
    just wondering if you get a lot of spam responses?
    If so how do you protext against it, any plugin or anything you
    can advise? I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any assistance is very much appreciated.|
    Greetings! Very helpful addvice in this particulasr post!
    It’s the little changes that will make the most important changes.
    Thanks a lot for sharing!|
    I absolutely love your site.. Pleasant colos & theme. Did you creafe this amazing site yourself?
    Please repply back as I’m looking to create my own personal blog and would love to
    know where you got this from or jjust what the theme is named.
    Thank you!|
    Hi there! This article coupd not be written any better! Readng though this article reminds me of my
    previous roommate! He alwats kept preaching about
    this. I will send this article to him. Fairly certain he will have a very good read.
    Thanks for sharing!|
    Amazing! This blog looks justt like my old one! It’s on a entirely different subject but it
    has pretty much the same layout and design. Outstanding choice of colors!|
    Ther is definately a lot to learn about this topic.
    I like all the points you made.|
    You made some decent points there. I checked on the web for additional information about the isasue and
    found most indivgiduals will go along with your views on this site.|
    Hello, I check your blog on a regular basis. Your story-telling style is witty, keep it up!|
    I simply couldn’t leave your website before suggesting
    that I really loved the usual info a person provide on ypur visitors?

    Is goiing to be back steadily in order to inspect new posts|
    I need to to thnank you for this great read!!
    I definitely loved every bit off it. I’ve got you
    saved as a ffavorite to check out new things you post…|
    Hi there, just wanted to say, I enjoyed this post.
    It was practical. Keep on posting!|
    Hello, I enjoy reading through your article.
    I wanted to write a little comment to support you.|
    I every time spent my half an hour to read this website’s posts everyday alog with a cup of coffee.|
    I all the time emailed this web site post page to all my friends, since if like to read it thern my links will
    too.|
    My programmer is trying to persuade me to move tto .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on various websites
    for about a year and am concerned about switching too another platform.
    I have heard fantastic things aboit blogengine.net.

    Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress content into it?
    Any knd of help would be greatly appreciated!|
    Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve visited your blog before but after going
    through a few oof the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely ddlighted I stumbled upon it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back often!|
    Great work! That is the type of info that are supposed to bee shared across the internet.
    Shame on Google for now not positioning this put up higher!
    Come on over and consult wkth my web site . Thanks =)|
    Heeya i’m for the first time here. I came across thiss board and I
    find It really useful & it helped me out a lot.

    I hope to give something back and aid others like you
    aided me.|
    Hello there, I think your website may be having internet browser compatibility issues.
    Whenever I take a look at your web ssite iin Safari, it looks
    fine but when opening in IE, it’s got some overlapping issues.
    I jujst wanted to give youu a quick heads up! Aside from that, great site!|
    A person necessarily assist to make severely posts I’d
    state. This is the very first time I frequented your web page and
    thus far? I amazed with the research you made to create thijs atual publish incredible.
    Fantastic activity!|
    Heya i am for the primary time here. I found this board and
    I in finding It really helpful & itt helped me out much.

    I hope to offer something back and aid others such as you hlped me.|
    Howdy! I simply would lioke to offer you a huge thumbs uup for the gfeat info yyou have right herfe on this post.

    Iwilol be coming back to yyour site for more soon.|
    I always used to study piece of writing in news papers but now as I am a user
    of internet therefore from now I aam using net for posts, thanks to web.|
    Your way of explaining the whole thing in this article is really nice, all be ble to effortlessly knlw
    it, Thanks a lot.|
    Hi there, I discovered your site by way of Google whilst searching for a related topic, your site
    got here up, it appears great. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hi there, simpply changed into alert to your weblog through
    Google, aand located that it is truly informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels.
    I’ll be grateful for those whho continue this in future.
    A lott of other folks can be benefited out of your writing.
    Cheers!|
    I’m curious to find out what blog platform you are
    working with? I’m experiencing some minor security issus with my latest blog and I’d like to find something mode risk-free.
    Do you have any solutions?|
    I’m extremely impressed wth your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog.
    Is thhis a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either
    way keep up the noce quality writing, itt is rare to see a nice blog like this onne these days.|
    I am resally impressed wijth your writing talents and also with the layout
    for your blog. Is that this a paid subject or did you customize it
    yourself? Either way stay up the excellent quality writing, it’s uncommon to look a nice blog like
    this one today..|
    Hi, Neat post. There is an issue together with your websjte in internnet explorer, may test this?
    IE still is the marketplace leader and a large part of otber folks will omit your magnificent writing due to this problem.|
    I’m not sure where you’re getting your information, but great topic.

    I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.
    Thanks for fantastic information I was looking ffor this info
    for my mission.|
    Hello, i think that i saw you visited my weblog so i came to “return the favor”.I’m trying to find things to enhance my site!I suppos its ook to use a few of your idea\

  3. Jane says:

    I am sure this post has touched all the internet viewers, its really really fastidious article on building up new blog.

  4. Kristen says:

    I am sure this piece of writing has touched all the internet visitors, its
    really really pleasant piece of writing on building up new web site.

  5. Alexander says:

    What’s up, its fastidious article about media print, we all be familiar with
    media is a great source of facts.

  6. Aliza Quann says:

    “You post interesting articles here. Your blog deserves_ much more visitors.”

  7. “Great Blogpost! Hello Admin! Thanks for this article, very good information, I will be_ forwarding this to some friends, if you’re ok with that. Greetings from Germany!”

  8. Great article. Thank you for your time in helping me get educated on the matter.

  9. moderator says:

    Greate article. Keep posting such ind of information on your page.
    Im really impressed by your site.
    Hi there, You’ve done an incredible job. I’ll certainly diggg iit andd
    personally recomend to my friends. I’m sure they will be benefited from this site.

  10. Carlos says:

    I’m sure getting new ideas in the market. Consequently Many of us referred
    to %BT% An original way for virtually no issues that`s my matter!
    Nevertheless, ab muscles and shoulders a compact calm my article content?))

  11. Jimmy says:

    I’ve bee browsing onbline more thaqn 2 hours today, yett I never fouhd
    anyy interestying article ljke yours. It’s pretty wort enouhgh foor me.
    In myy view, iff all webb ownes and bloggers mace
    good content aas yoou did, the wweb will bbe muxh molre useul
    han ver before. I cpuld not resisat commenting.
    Exceptionally well written! I amm sue tthis paragrzph has
    tluched aall thhe interbet people, itss reall really fastidious pafagraph oon buolding upp new weblog.
    http://cspan.org

  12. Many thanks for this fantastic article, I am glad I discovered
    this website on google.

  13. free psychic says:

    I’d constantly desire to be modified on brand new content on this website, bookmarked!

  14. Simply a smiling visitor here to share the love.
    btw great style and design as well as outstanding post.

  15. This website is excellent, very excellent and
    packed with excellent articles.

  16. Nice site, nice pattern, really clean and awesome post.

  17. Worthwhile info as well as outstanding design you
    have here! I want to thank you for sharing
    your good ideas and putting the time into the stuff you release!

    Excellent work!

  18. Mitsubishi says:

    Thank you for any other wonderful article.
    The place else may anybody get that kind of
    information in such a perfect means of writing?

    I’ve a presentation subsequent week, and I’m on the look for such info.

  19. Woah how much an blog post for %BT%! That’s anything I`ve been searching for a long period!
    In my other to come back much too?

  20. hey there and thank you for your info – I have definitely picked up something new from right here.
    I did however expertise a few technical issues using this web site, since I experienced to reload the web site many times
    previous to I could get it too load properly.
    I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will very frequently
    affect your placement in google and can damage your high-quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords.
    Anyway I’m adding this RSS to my email and can look out for a
    lot mode of your respective intriguing content.
    Ensure that you update this again very soon.

  21. marbella says:

    I don’t even understand how I finished up here, but I believed this post
    was once great. I don’t recognise who you might
    be however definitely you’re going to a famous blogger if you happen to aren’t already.
    Cheers!

  22. Hi to all, because I am actually keen of reading this website’s post to be
    updated daily. It contains good data.

  23. garage door says:

    Hi there would you mind letting me know which
    webhost you’re using? I’ve loaded your blog iin 3 completely different browsers
    and I must say this blog loads a lot quiicker then most.
    Can you recommend a good web hosting provider at a reasonable price?
    Thanks a lot, I appreciate it!

  24. Basil says:

    For the reason that the admin of this site is working, no hesitation very soon it will be well-known, due
    to its feature contents.

  25. Alissa says:

    Awesome article.

  26. Admiring the persistence you put into your site and detailed information you offer.
    It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same olld rehashed information. Grat read!
    I’ve bookmarked your ste and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  27. Jack says:

    It’ѕ perfect time to make a few plaans for the long run annd it is time to
    be happy. I hаve read this post and iff I could I wish to
    suggest yoᥙ some interdesting issues oг advice.
    Perhnaps you could write subsequent articles relating to this artiϲle.

    I desire to read more issues approximately it!

  28. Woodrow says:

    You actually make it appear so easy along with your presentation however I in finding this matter to
    be really something which I feel I would never understand.
    It kind of feels too complex and very extensive for me.

    I’m having a look forward to your subsequent
    submit, I will attempt to get the hang of it! https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gran_Canaria/074/9

Leave a Reply

